Release

images-3
Tonight, M was sobbing for very little reason.  Full body, endless tears sobbing. We asked him what was wrong and he couldn’t tell us. He just sobbed.

After a few minutes of trying to figure out what was wrong, I realized that sometimes we all just need a good cry.  I told M that we just need to cry sometimes and that we feel better afterwards.

That sort of release is cathartic.  Cleansing.  As a parent, I find myself rushing to try to fix what is wrong.  To make it all better.  Tonight, I have been reminded that I can’t fix everything and that, sometimes, there is nothing that needs to be fixed.  Sometimes, we just need a good cry.

-Betsy

Leave a Reply

