Sweetness

I am on my own for a few days while S travels for work.  I am feeling really tired from a few nights of a sleepless toddler and have maybe been a little shorter tempered than I would like today.  It is always on days like today when something happens to remind me how amazing my child is, helping to wash away the stress.

As I was putting him down for his nap, I laid my head next to his so that our faces were nearly touching.  Pretending to be asleep, I was almost overwhelmed by my sweet boy when he gently started touching all the features of my face.  First eyebrows and eyelashes. Nose. Cheeks. Lips.  Gingerly, with one finger, he traced the outline of my eyes and of my exposed ear.  It was pure sweetness and just what I needed.

-Betsy

Leave a Reply

