First Crush

P1060201Tonight, I witnessed what I think was my son’s first crush.  I hesitate to use that word because people often associate it with lust or romantic love.  When I say ‘crush’, I mean he was really awed by someone.  This someone’s name is Lilah.  She has these huge green eyes and a stripe of freckles across her face.  She is seven.  M, being two, stood mesmerized as Lilah jumped from rock to rock, in a circle, over and over again.  He stared with his mouth agape with, perhaps, even a little drool in the corners, as she went round and round.  Then, when she slowed down and came to a rest, I encouraged M to say hello and to not just stare.  He waved and smiled and walked over to a big rock near her and sat down, alternating between petting the rock and smiling at the object of his affection.

I love the amazement my son derives from things as small as a child running in circles.  I love that he knows nothing of war or violence or hunger or injustice.  The other day at gymnastics M was using a piece of foam to try to get his teacher.  She was kind of rolling around pretending that he had stabbed her with a sword.  I explained to her that he had a tickle stick and was tickling her and that he knows nothing of violent play..not yet, anyway. I know I can’t always shelter him, nor do I think that would protect him.  What I want to do is feed his curiosities, encourage relationship building and allow him the opportunity to soak up the joy of other children running in circles.  I think that will help him grow into the kind of man who speaks out against injustice, of all kinds.  That would make this mama proud.

-Betsy

One response to “First Crush

  1. Well said. I like the concept of a tickle stick! I think I will totally start using that.

Leave a Reply

