Date Night

We had a DATE!  An actual kid-free, no errand running (save a quick little trip to Home Depot), a glass of wine, a movie – a DATE.  It was the first time we have been out on a real date in a long time.  I can’t even remember the last time to be honest.  Last night was great AND we were home by 9.  That was the best part.

I got a haircut today for the first time in about a year.  I found myself talking to my new stylist telling her she should go see this musician I really like.  I went on and on about what a great live performer she is and how much I have loved to see her in concert.  When my stylist asked me if I was going, I laughed out loud and said, “No way.  It starts at 9.”  Holy shit.  That is what I actually said so that someone else was able to hear me.  Does anyone remember when you couldn’t get to the club before 1o:30 or 11 because no one would be there?  Home by 3 a.m.?  If I am awake at 3 a.m. now I am pissed off because some pint-sized alarm clock woke me up.

Does the fact that we went to a 4:30 movie make us seem like  grannies?  Maybe.  But I am ok with that.  I am ok with us being two of four people in the otherwise empty theater.  I am ok with texting home during the movie to find out if my boy ate all his dinner.  I am ok with rushing back to the house after dinner to try to be asleep by 10.  I am ok with all of that.  It was still a date.

-Betsy

2 responses to “Date Night

  1. You are not alone. My partner and I went to see Les Miserables at a Saturday matinee show and was back to get the kiddo at 4 ish. We didn’t make a night of it. But, we got a date – so don’t feel bad about the timing, we are all grannies when we get to be parents and realize our time is no longer our own! LOL.

  2. Also, Home Depot trips are TOTALLY date worthy. We have TOTALLY dropped the kiddos off at where ever just to go to Home Depot without all the fuss… then out to dinner… and home by 9 is AWESOME! When anyone asks me if I”m ever coming back to the theatre, I sorta smile and say maybe…. but in reality, I kinda like being in my jammies by 7 with not a whole lot to do. Being out to 3am is now WAY overrated. heh. The nights we do go out until after 10, I’m so exhausted the next day I can barely move. My dreams have definitely changed, but I think they are for the better. I’m sure they will change again.

Leave a Reply

