A Worthy Read (on Queer, Non-Gestational Parenthood)

It’s the end of February.  We’re nearly into my least favorite month (apologies to all the lovely people who were born in that 3rd month of the calendar year).  I have always disliked March.  It has to do with only one thing: winter. needs. to. end. now. I don’t have much to complain about: I chose to stay living in New England this long and part of the reason is because I do love the four seasons.  I especially don’t have much to complain about this year when we didn’t see real snow build up and multiply until after the new year.  I was doing just fine- moving along at a steady winter clip- and then something happened. I had that panicky feeling (this happens every year, why it still surprises me is just ludicrous) where I feel like I’m falling down a rabbit hole and cannot seem to psychically remember what spring or summer feels like (help! I’ve been consumed by Winter!). I got seriously sick of the cold, the grey… and then I realized I was upon that beast: March.

So why am I rambling about this anyways?  I am rambling about this because I have a mild case of cabin fever that is also not helping stir my creative juices.  I have a nearly three year old that needs to be walked, people.  Add to all of this that my work has been busy- super busy- with being under-staffed until we hire a new counselor, and it makes for one tired brain.

So instead of me coming up with something from scratch, I’m sharing with you one of my all-time favorite blog posts about queer, non-gestational (and gestational) parenthood.  It’s poignant, nuanced, and honest.  Just the way I like it.  I hope you do too.

http://firsttimesecondtime.com/2011/08/do-you-love-them-differently/

Happy March eve folks,

Charlotte

Leave a Reply

