Light at the End of the Tunnel

Last night, my terrible sleeper slept from 7:30pm until 6 a.m. OH MY MOTHER F***ING GOD!  Really!  He did that! For the first time in his life, my son slept through the night.  I know I shouldn’t be writing about this because I am sure to jinx us, but I couldn’t help myself.

The irony in all of this is that I have had more consolidated sleep the last two nights than I have had since he was born and I feel exhausted.  It is like my body now remembers what it is missing and it is pissed.  Last night I was asleep by 9.  Tonight, I am writing from my bed and it is not yet 8.

Tonight is night seven of sleeping training.  While I have been the trainer the previous six times we have attempted to trick our son into sleep, S seems to be the one in charge now and I like it!  I can sit back while she makes him cry.  Sometimes I put headphones on, just because I can.  That way, I can detach myself from his angst.  Tonight, after S moved further away form his bed as he attempted to put himself to sleep, he became very upset.  He was jumping in his crib and yelling for ‘Ima’.  After a couple minutes of hootin’ and hollerin’, he says, “I am very frustrated.”  My two-year old (just turned two, by the way) identified that he feels frustrated.

He is just about asleep now, if the damn squeaky door hinge would stop waking him.  Right now, I feel proud.  Proud of us as parents for listening to our son and to our guts all those other times we tried to sleep train and it felt like too much.  Proud of my baby who can tell us how he is feeling, in a full sentence no less.  Proud of myself for surviving up until now.  Just proud.

-Betsy

PS. Please remind me to grease that hinge tomorrow!

2 responses to “Light at the End of the Tunnel

  1. Martha Christensen

    I am so happy for all 3 of you. The sentence he uttered should go in his babybook!

  2. GREASE THE HINGE!!!
    also, we were going to wait 4 years between kids… my kids are 28 months apart… we decided if we ever started sleeping through the night, we would never have another. heh. those who have children that (they claim) sleep through the night at 2 days are 1) lying 2) need to be kicked in the knees. hehe.
    glad he went through the night. may you not have jinxed it and may it continue until college!!
    your sleep cycles will rearrange soon and you will start to realize that you don’t really feel tired, you just (as you stated) forgot what REAL sleep was.

Leave a Reply

